2013 Nissan Pathfinder Review

Car Pro Rating:
5.0 out of 5 stars
14 Mar


Well, my job just got harder. I get a ton of questions on the radio show about midsized crossover SUVs with 3rd row seating. I always talk about the Ford Explorer, Chevy Traverse, Toyota Highlander, etc. All of them are great choices. NOW, I have another one to add to the list, the 2013 Nissan Pathfinder. This is sort of big news, because in the past, the words Pathfinder barely crossed my lips, I was not a fan.
2013 Nissan PathfinderMy tester is the Platinum Edition two-wheel drive. It has the 3.5-liter V6, which is a tried and true engine. It is producing 260-horses but with the continuously variable transmission (CVT), it feels more like 300. For me, I am not always a fan of the feel of a CVT, but it works in this SUV. Nissan exchanged the belts in the tranny with chains, which should make it much more durable.
The exterior is beautiful, with defined lines, and sharp 20” wheels. The paint on this Artic Blue Pathfinder is stunning and full of life. It is one of the best paint jobs I’ve ever seen from a factory. I don’t know what they did to achieve this at their Smyrna, Tennessee assembly plant, but it is impressive.
The interior bowls you over the minute you open a door. Nissan did an exceptional job making everything inside look plush and comfortable. The leather seating is wide and comfortable in front, and there is nice leg room for the second row, and ample room in the 3rd row. People 6’ or maybe slightly more would be comfortable, and it has an impressive amount of cargo room behind the third row seat. Also nice, the spacious 2nd-row moves forward and backward up to 5½ inches for excellent access to the back row, even with a child seat installed.
This Pathfinder is loaded with all power accessories, has a power tilt steering wheel, heated and cooled seats, a great Bose stereo system, and one of the best navigation systems I have seen. It has an 8” color monitor that you can operate by touch or with controls, it has remote start, and a dual panoramic moon roof.
One neat feature is the Easy Fill tire alert. If you have a low tire, and you go to put air in it, the horn beeps at you when it has the right amount of air. BRILLIANT!
Other features include pushbutton start, heated steering wheel, rearview camera, steering wheel controls, Bluetooth, and trailer towing package, rated to pull 5000 pounds. This one has the dual screen DVD player.
The 2013 Pathfinder has a unibody platform, which gives it a nice smooth ride. It is 500 pounds lighter, and 4.6” longer than the 2012. The quietness is noticeable, and it handles great. Overall, it is a joy to drive, much like its sibling, the Infiniti JX.
The larger, gentler, smoother, prettier Pathfinder is much improved, priced right, and should be on your shopping list.

What I liked most: The interior and exterior appearance.

What I would change: Give me blind-spot monitoring as standard!

MSRP: $42,920 as equipped. Base price is $39,170

Fuel Economy: 20 City and 26 Highway, doing slightly better.

Warranty: 3 years/36,000 mile bumper to bumper coverage, plus 5 years/60,000 on the powertrain, and roadside assistance.

2013 Nissan Pathfinder in a few words: A must-see if you are in the market for a midsized SUV with a 3rd row seat.

03/20/2013 Addendum to Review: I gave the 2013 Nissan Pathfinder a stellar review last week. In the interest of being upfront and honest about all reviews, you should know that toward the end of the week, after the review was published, I encountered severe transmission problems with the Pathfinder. At about 1700 miles, the vehicle started to lurch. It got worse as I went along, at one point I lost complete power on a freeway, the engine was running but the transmission would not pull at all. After sitting for a while, it started to go again, but at times was hung in low gear.

This is not to say this will be an issue with any other Pathfinders out there. You should know too that things like this happen with every manufacturer.

I hope to find out what the problem was, and I expect Nissan will fly Engineers here to analyze this incident.

2013 Nissan Pathfinder Review, reviewed by Jerry on 2013-03-14T20:21:24+00:00 rating 5.0 out of 5

Comments

  1. Jimmy Montes says:

    I like Nissan cars, but the front end / grill is ugly on all their trucks/suv’s and their van is really ugly! now the tranny sucks too! no thanks…

  2. Dennis Richardson says:

    Gotta say I agree with Jimmy above. Why Nissan can’t put a handsome face on any of their cars is amazing to me. They put the same ugly nose on everything they make except the Maxima. I was happy to see they simplified it a bit on the Pathfinder. That said, I just bought an SL with the Prem. Pkg. Absolutely wonder vehicle. Smooth as “butta” and the best sound system I’ve had in a vehicle. Traded in 2011 Murano and kind of surprised how much more luxo the ride and noise level is. Very quiet SL has all the bells and whistles I needed. Love the car so far, but hated to hear your experience with the transmission. Thanks for your site.

  3. Kevin says:

    Did you find out what the transmission problem was?
    Me and my wife love this vehicle, and you sure get a lot for your money in comparison to the competition. The only problem is that I have read a lot about the transmissions being an issue.
    Both the Pathfinder and the Altima have a lot of bad publicity about the transmission. I personally felt a small shake at 40km/hr and again at 70km/hr during a test drive. This is exactly what I read about.
    I’m not sure if this is an issue, or just a characteristic of the new CVT. I know the Murano, which has the previous model CVT, does not do this.
    Is Nissan going to do something about this moving forward? Especially in the 2014?

    • Jerry says:

      Kevin, I am supposed to get an update on the problem with my review vehicle this week. When I get it, I’ll update the Pathfinder review again.

      Hopefully, I will find out too how widespread the problem is, and what the plan going forward is.

      Watch the newsletter, I’ll put the info there too. THANKS for listening to the show.

      Jerry Reynolds “The Car Pro”
      President, Car Pro Radio Networks

      • William Joe says:

        Hi Jerry

        Any updates on the trans? We would like to find out too.
        Appreciate it and nice articles.

        Joe

        • Jerry says:

          Not yet Joe, I was supposed to get a report last week. I’ll check on it again!

          Jerry Reynolds “The Car Pro”
          President, Car Pro Radio Networks

  4. Chad says:

    I purchased a 2013 Pathfinder SL w/ premium pkg in December of 2012. My wife and I love the vehicle… When its not in the shop. We had a few minor issues such as a dome light not working and the remote starter working intermittently. We then started having the “shuddering” of the transmission during acceleration at low speeds. I brought it in and was told that there is a bulletin to reprogram the transmission control module. 2 days later, I picked up the car and found that the transmission still has the same symptoms. I brought it back in. It’s now been 2 days and I was just informed that “Nissan is aware of the problem and some customers still have the proem after the reprogramming is done. Nissan is working on identifying the exact cause and a permanent fix to the problem. With that said, there’s not much I can do for it right now.” So now, I can just sit back, relax, and wait for Nissan to come up with a fix and hope that this is not doing any long-term damage to my brand new transmission. Some chalk it up to “a new model year with some bugs to fix.” To that, I say that I also have an “all new, completely redesigned” 2013 Ford Fusion with similar mileage (~3500) and have had no problems to date.

  5. Jennifer says:

    My husband and I purchased a new 2013 Pathfinder in February and we have also been having transmission problems. We have a 3rd teenage driver in the family and I am afraid to let her drive it due to the “chugging” of the transmission that occurs often while making left hand turns and very often at 20 and 40 mph. We are taking our car in to the dealership this weekend and hoping to get some cooperation with resolving this problem. I will post again to let others know how the dealership handles our situation. We purchased our car at Sutherlin Nissan Mall of Georgia location. We were told nothing of the problems when we made the purchase.

  6. Paul Quintanilla says:

    OMG! I am having the exact same problem with my new 2013 SL pAthfinder, all the shaking, etc at low speeds. Once I almost lost power. A week ago I went for maintenance and the did the “recall” fixes, but honestly now it feels worse. I am very concern about what this could cause for years to come to the transmission. i wlll take it to dealership again this weekend.

  7. Dave says:

    Jerry,
    I was ready to buy the pathfinder until I came across The comments about the transmission. Do you have any more information? Does the infinity have the same transmission problems?

    • Jerry says:

      I am waiting for the results of the testing. My gut feel is it was an isolated case. I should have the full report this weekend and will post it on the website and in the newsletter.

      Jerry Reynolds “The Car Pro”
      President, Car Pro Radio Networks

      • Enis says:

        ABC news is reporting that it is not an isolated case:

        http://abclocal.go.com/ktrk/story?section=news/consumer&id=9118931

        Also JD power and others rate the predicted reliability as below average based on their data.

        I love this car, but unfortunately can’t buy one because, despite their marking hype of being in the CVT business for years, nissan doesn’t know how to make a CVT that works. It’s true they were making them for years, but they have always had problems. CVT issues are not unique to the pathfinder, and not even unique to nissan.

  8. John K. - MA says:

    I bought the 2013 Pathfinder in Dec and experienced shuddering issues during acceleration or deceleration at various speeds. Complained to my dealer and after many attempts to fix, they bought back the lemon and gave another brand new one…same model. 3k miles later and same issue is happening….not sure what to do but this is a widespread issue with the pathfinder!!

    • Jerry says:

      I am waiting for the results of the testing. My gut feel is it was an isolated case. I should have the full report this weekend and will post it on the website and in the newsletter. I have not heard of issues with the JX, but it has the has the same powertrain.

      Jerry Reynolds “The Car Pro”
      President, Car Pro Radio Networks

      • Jennifer says:

        This is my second posting. Our dealership kept our car and provided a rental car for us. While this is certainly not the an ideal situation — buying a new car & living happily ever after– I am thankful that they are trying to get the transmission problem solved. We are lucky to live in a state with a lemon law. I don’t have any answers yet either but wanted to say that the dealership we purchased from is trying to help.

  9. Chris says:

    Did you get the full report from Nissan on the transmission failure you experienced? This issue seems far from an isolated incident, as the Nissan Facebook page/2013 Pathfinder owner forums are ablaze with people complaining of the same CVT issues. Nissan also seems to be doing an horrendous job of making things right for those poor people who are affected.

    • Jerry says:

      I check on this every week. I have still not gotten the report. I do expect it any day. I have a good relationship with Nissan, if there is a widespread problem, I believe they will tell me.

      Jerry Reynolds “The Car Pro”
      President, Car Pro Radio Networks

  10. Geroge says:

    Hi Jerry

    Have you heard anything from the dealer on yours?

  11. Michael says:

    I bought my 2013 Pathfinder SL 4×4 on April 19 and have just put 1100 miles on it. Since buying it it has shuddered at least a dozen or so times. The shudder lasts for about 2 to 3 seconds usually while trying to accelerate from a slow roll. The car has no power while the shudder is going on. Very Dangerous! I brought the car to the dealer and they told me that Nissan is aware of the problem and that it can take approximately 2 weeks to 2 months for Nissan to come up with a solution. I told the dealer that the car is unsafe to drive. They told me that Nissan told them that the car is safe to drive and that I need to “floor” the gas pedal when accelerating to bypass the shudder issue (even more dangerous, in my opinion). I should have looked at this Facebook page prior to buying this car. I would have gone with the Mazda CX-9 or the Toyota Highlander if I knew that this was an inherent problem with the car. I also think that Nissan should be ashamed of themselves too continue to sell vehicles with a major powertrain problem. I asked my dealer if Nissan is going to be liable considering their statement that “the car is safe to drive” should I get into an accident while trying to accelerate onto the New Jersey Turnpike. Started the lemon law process.

  12. Jen Clemmer says:

    We just test drove a beautiful 2013 Pathfinder SV ~ I really loved it, but scared to buy it now! Would love to know if they have worked out all the bugs for maybe 2014 model or should we start looking at something else?

    • Jerry says:

      Jen, still waiting on the complete report on the Pathfinder transmission issue I had. I just don’t know what to tell you at this point. If there IS indeed a widespread issue, you can bet Nissan will have them corrected by the time the 2014 comes out.

      THANKS for listening to the show!

      Jerry Reynolds “The Car Pro”
      President, Car Pro Radio Networks

      • Chris says:

        This issue has hit the mainstream news, and Nissan have publicly confirmed that there is a problem with the 2013 models. A “new part” has been developed to address the problem, and this is expected to arrive at dealerships in June for a customer recall:

        http://abclocal.go.com/ktrk/story?section=news/consumer&id=9118931

        • Jerry says:

          Thanks for the information!

          • Chris says:

            You’re welcome… I also confirmed with my dealership this morning that the 2014 models will have this new part as standard, so the issue should not be present on the new models.

            Which is great news for me, as I’m currently waiting for my 2014 Platinum to be delivered mid July (ordered early May).

  13. Enis says:

    Chris,

    Who did you order a 2014 pathfinder from?

    I was told it is not possible to preorder, and that dealers don’t know any more than we do about what parts or options will or will not be included in the 2014, since nissan has not released any info to anyone as of yet.

    • Chris says:

      Enis

      I placed the order with a dealership up here in Canada. I originally ordered a 2013 model, but was informed that the factory had switched over to 2014 models. This resulted in us having to change our color choice, as the combination we had chosen is not available in the 2014 model for some annoying reason. Anyway, we were told there was no difference beside the color options and all of the fixes of issues from the 2013 model.

  14. Kimberly Howell says:

    I purchased the 2013 Pathfinder SL 4×4 in February and befire I drove it off the lot there was a problem with the rear seat heaters. I took it in two days later to have it fixed and they had it for a week and 1/2…apparently there was some new tool needed, which the dealership had to order just to be able to get the seat removed to look at the problem, and then they had to order the new seat heater because it had some problem with it. After I finally got it back, I moved on assuming it was an isolated issue, and I absolutely loved the car, I had been driving a Toyota Sequoia with absolutely no problems, but being 11 years old with 180,000 miles on it, I felt it was time to get something new. About a month of driving it, I started experienceing the shuddering, rough shifting, and on occasion it feels like I’m driving over a grid. The car’s getting ready to go back to the dealership service department, and I’m hoping the problem can be fixed. After having my Sequoia problem free for so long, this has been very frustrating to say the least!

  15. Pete says:

    We bought a 2013 Pathfinder SL back in April and I just took it in for its first oil change after 4k miles yesterday. I love the car (aside from the clumsy Bose/iPhone/Pandora interface), but am now worried about this CVT problem. The Pathfinder replaced an ’04 Murano that ran great until it reached ~130k miles. All of the problems listed above are exactly what I encountered with the Murano. That vintage had such problems that Nissan extended the warranty on the transmission. The first time I had it into the shop, we had the transfer case replaced only to have to return a few months later for a whole new transmission. My local dealer was very accommodating, but we still ended up paying a few thousand dollars for repairs. Nonetheless, those problems didn’t occur until we had the car for 7 years. I can’t believe people are encountering this defect so soon. I specifically asked about the CVT when we bought the car (from the same dealer we bought our Murano and trouble-free ’08 Altima) and was assured that there were no problems with it. Maybe I should have spent the extra money for the Buick Enclave.
    Good luck to everyone and at least I know what to expect if I encounter the slow-speed shudder.

  16. Dennis Richardson says:

    Gosh Darn, I remember the old days when no one with brains bought a new model the first year. Foolish me, I thought those days were gone. I had 2 Muranos (2007 and 2011) and never a moments trouble. No brainer I thought. Same engine and same transmission I thought. Luckily I’ve had no issues so far but only 2000k miles. I’m now waiting and listening for any problem. Too bad. I love my Pathfinder, but there’s way too much smoke about it for there to be no fire. Luckily I have enough money to dump it if necessary and buy a Lexus, but I worry about the poor kids who stretched to make a 5 year payment and will be stuck. Lesson learned whatever the car guys say. . . . don’t ever take a chance on a new model. Other side. . . I have absolutely no complaints so far and I hope this is a tempest in a teapot. Good luck all.

  17. Dennis Richardson says:

    It may be that my paranoia is getting the best of me. I absolutely love everything about the car. I have an 2013 SL with the prem. pkg. that adds sunroof and the absolutely delightful Bose sound system. I’ve read reviews suggesting it doesn’t have enough power but it seems quick enough for me. Seems every bit as quick as my x Muranos. After reading all the complaints about the CVT I ‘ve been waiting for the other shoe to drop. I’ve had 2 Muranos and never a problem with the CVT. I assumed it was the same set up but apparently they’ve change the CVT. I’ve had none of the symptoms after 3k miles until I read a post that suggested while driving down the road it felt as if she was driving over a grid. I have a section of freeway I drive often and every time I drive through it, I feel something that reminds me of a tire out of balance. Would I call it a shutter? Opps! Not a bad description of how it feels. One of my Muranos had a terrible brake squeak when backing up. I mean it would wake up the neighbors in the morning. I had it four years with many attempts to get the terrible noise fixed. The dealership was good about working on it each time I took it in, but they never fixed it for longer than a month, and I never felt Nissan took it seriously. I can only hope they are taking this CVT issue seriously. Cars are getting way to expensive to accept anything less than perfect. They no longer have a few years to work out the kinks.

  18. Emma Dozier says:

    I just bought a new 2013 Pathfinder in February of this year. The problem with the “shuddering” and “jerking” began just weeks after I got it. I took it back to the dealership, and they told me, “There’s nothing wrong with your car.” I will be taking it back again this week to have it looked at again. This was my first Nissan vehicle. I switched from the Honda Pilot because it had lost the crossover appeal. I’m going to admit that this will be my last Nissan purchase because this entire experience has left me “gun shy.”

  19. jon says:

    I rented a 2013 Pathfinder and drove it from VA to ME and it made the trip very enjoyable. Only at low speeds as noted by others did I notice the trans-shudder after arriving in ME. If driving at or below 30 mph, I shift to L to avoid it (but I watch the rpm’s as to not over-rev or red-line). Tried initially to turn off overdrive, but that did not help. So far I have not experienced any total power loss, but it was disconcerting to say the least. Otherwise, my family and I have really enjoyed the vehicle. I’ll be sure to tell the renal company about it and the dealer’s new part to fix it. Thanks for the info.

  20. Danyale says:

    Hi, Jerry! Still nothing from Nissan on this? I, too have a 2013 with the shuddering problem. I’ve had the CVT replaced and the software update applied and still having the same issues. Thanks!

    • Jerry says:

      Nissan says I had a pre-production model that hadn’t had the computer update done. They say the problem is resolved. I would contact Nissan directly and let them know, they may need to look at yours again. So sorry for the problem!

      Jerry Reynolds, President
      Car Pro Radio Network

  21. Nate Crow says:

    Hello,
    We are thinking about purchasing a 2014. Has anyone had issues with the 2014 yet or heard of any problems?

    Thanks,

    • Jerry says:

      I have not heard of any problems so far in the 2014 model, but it is still a little early. THANKS for listening to the show.

      Jerry Reynolds, President
      Car Pro Radio Network

  22. Dan says:

    I Just dropped off my wife’s 2013 pathfinder at dealer, Metro Nissan Montclair Ca. Same shuddering problem at 20 mph. It jerks the vehicle really bad. They tried to say it was all fixed but shuddered as soon as I drove off. So, I went back and then drove the technician around the block and he was very surprised the transmission shook so bad. He said I might need a new tranny. This in a new car with only 6,000 miles! I must say they have been very nice and professional but not sure if this is going to be fixed given everyone else’s results…

  23. lori says:

    I have just purchased a used 2013 Pathfinder 8K miles Platinum can still exchange for a 2013 Highlander which I donot like as much but has a better rating and no transmission issues. What is the update on the trnsmission issue. Seems like it is not all cars and also seems to happen in the 1st few thousand miles.. if Im at 8K miles maybe I dont have the issue? advice?

    • Jerry says:

      Hard to say. The transmission may be the reason someone got rid of it so soon. I hope not, but you are correct that not all of them gave trouble. I hope you got a good one!

      Jerry Reynolds, President
      Car Pro Radio Network

  24. A says:

    Jerry,

    Hello. Considering a 2014 Nissan Pathfinder Platinum 4X4, but, with the widely publicized CVT issue, still debating and haven’t been able to come to a decision. Do you recommend purchasing a 2014 model as opposed to a 2013? Thanks.

    • Jerry says:

      Honestly no. From what I hear, the problem is not 100% solved at this point, even in the 2014 models.

      I appreciate you listening to the show, let me know if I can help!

      Jerry Reynolds, President
      Car Pro Radio Network

  25. Ash says:

    Hi Jerry,

    About 2014 models, do you have any reference points for the CVT issue? I really like the car and local dealership is giving lifetime warranty as long as I own it, but I am afraid of CVT issues.

    Thanks

    • Jerry says:

      I am still hearing they have issues, even with the 2014s. I like the vehicle a lot, and some people are not experiencing any issues. If I get any new info, I’ll post it here.

      Jerry Reynolds, President
      Car Pro Radio Network

  26. Dr says:

    Do not buy this car until the next version comes out. I have SERIOUS BUYERS REMORSE after purchasing a brand new 2013 Platinum Pathfinder which, in the first 4 months of owning it, has had the transmission replaced, a recall on the ALB and MANY trips to the dealership. It is a complete lemon and Nissan corporate won’t do anything about it. I spoke to an insanely rude woman named Danielle x457284 who was all sweet and nice at the beginning but turned into a wench after I filed several complaints. They will not honor the lemon law despite the fact that our car, which we bought brand new with 7 miles on it, was in the shop 8 times and took months to repair. BUYER BEWARE, this car is an absolute failure.

  27. John says:

    Jerry…on your show today, 2.8.14, you mentioned that the transmission issue with the Pathfinder has been solved. The issues with the transmission have put me on hold with this vehicle. Do you know what the problem was? Also, if I am considering a 2014, do I need to pay attention to when the vehicle was built by Nissan and when the transmission was built going into the car to avoid this issue??

    Many thanks and I really enjoy your show.

    John

    • Jerry says:

      John, I don’t honestly know what the issue was, I heard conflicting reports, but it does seem to have gone away according to numerous dealers I’ve spoken with. I do think it would be a good idea to get one built in the 4th quarter of 2013 or first quarter this year, just to be safe.

      Let me know how I can help you

      Jerry Reynolds, President
      Car Pro Radio Network

  28. John says:

    I bought 2014 pathfinder a month ago and it has same issue. the car is smooth n it shudders at low speeds. dealership checked it out and found nothing wrong. shudder is intermittent and can be quite bad sometimes. i would not have bought this car had i known this issue prior to buying. Apart from shudder its a good car.

    • Hardwater says:

      Hi, John,
      Do you know your car build date?
      looks like this issue happens on 2014 model which built before Sept last year.
      After that should be okay.

      • Joe says:

        If you look at Nissan Pathfinder’s facebook page, you have owners of both 2013 and 2014 having issues. Some, poor people have been without their vehicle for a month. Some who are scared to drive it because it shakes, loses power when they need the acceleration to merge into highway, etc. Nissan has been trying to find a solution for probably a year now with no definite solution published. I don’t think it is a problem that can be attributed to a specific lot of vehicles built on a certain date. Otherwise, they would have had a recall by now. It is looking more like a design flaw in the CVT where it is fine to begin with, but as it is driven and wear and tear sets in, the CVT begins slipping/shuddering. Some owners drive the tranny harder than others. That’s why the issue occurs at different mileages. To me, Nissan should do a voluntary halt of the sale of their Pathfinders until they can find a solution. Similiar to what Toyota did recently. Otherwise, they just keep putting out defective vehicles on the market risking people’s lives. I can imagine the helpless feeling you get when you need to accelerate but, no response or it loses power. Plus, not to mention that I am sure Nissan is losing money for every PF they sell if they have to replace the tranny multiple times for each vehicle…. Just not good business..

  29. Frances says:

    We purchased a 2013 Nissan pathfinder with no miles . Shudder problem began about a month later. I am currently in a rental for 2 weeks now. The first time I dropped the car off they said it shuttered, but not while hooked up and gave it back to me that way! Now they are changing the entire transmission. What a piece of junk! 0 miles , came defective ! We did give the car to the dealership for whatever recall they sent a letter about, and it still did it after . The dealership acted like it was so “rare” and they’d only seen one case of this before. Obviously it’s not rare and pretty well known. If it happens again (time 3) I will pull the FL lemon law on them and get a new vehicle . Total regret dealing with this car manufacturer .

  30. Joe says:

    How can you give a vehicle that doesn’t run properly, shakes upon acceleration and loses power a 5 star rating?? check out the Nissan Pathfinder facebook page. It is plastered with complaints about this transmission issue. Instances where owners’ vehicles have been in the shop for over a month, replaced transmission 3 times in a brand new vehicle with only a few thousand miles!! This deserves a 5 star rating???!

    • Jerry says:

      IF YOU READ THE REVIEW, you will see I added the transmission issue to it AFTER I wrote the review. I rated it BEFORE the problem occurred, I was pretty clear about that.

      Jerry Reynolds, President
      Car Pro Radio Network

      • Joe says:

        Hey Jerry,

        Sorry. Just read your addendum. Thanks for the clarification.

        Did the engineer that reviewed your test vehicle discover anything? Nissan has been up and down about the issue for over a year now. Seems like no viable solution. A lot of unhappy owners that have had vehicles break down, lose power upon acceleration, feel unsafe, had 3 transmissions(Some refurbished), replaced in their supposed brand new vehicle with endless shop time and it still shudders. Quite frustrating for a $43k vehicle…. When will NTHSA get involved?? Seems enough complaints. Thanks

        • Jerry says:

          Joe, when Nissan got back to me, they seemed to have a plausible explanation for what happened to the vehicle I had. I have heard from many that had problems after I did, so I’m not sure if it was a different problem than I had.

          Unless NHTSA deems it to be a safety issue, they won’t force a recall. The good news is I have not heard this issue with the 2014 models, so I hope it is solved.

          Thanks for listening to the show.

          Jerry Reynolds, President
          Car Pro Radio Network

          • Joe says:

            Thanks Jerry,

            However, the 2014 PF does seem to have the problem. There are numerous 2014 owners experiencing it as shown on the ‘Nissan Pathfinder’ facebook page. And Nissan doesn’t seem to have any updates on the probable cause and viable solution that works. Hopefully Nissan can make a public announcement on the issue/cause/solution. For now, there are many owners in the dark making car payments for a brand new vehicle in a shop for weeks on end. Would appreciate any insight if you hear of any. Thanks

          • John says:

            Jerry..thanks for your help on this issue. I am still in a quandry on the 2014 PF even if I knew that it was manufactured in 2014. Of all the vehicles that I have driven, the PF still comes out on top especially the ride and handling. But….is purchasing one a gamble…could be unfortunately.

            John

          • Joe says:

            John, here is Nissan Pathfinder’s Facebook page. Please feel free to read the experiences of real Pathfinder owners and their nightmare problems! Click link:

            https://www.facebook.com/nissanpathfinder

  31. Wanda says:

    I purchased a 2013 Pathfinder SL 4×4 & have nothing but problems with it ever since!! Transmission , Air bag unit not working, and Battery indicator on and not starting!!!!! First thing was the “shuddering and losing power”. They reprogrammed it, done the software update etc and driving it off the lot the same thing happened again. Had it in again and they couldn’t resolve the issue. Brought it back last week and they were hesitant to do anything until I asked if it will take me loosing power in a busy intersection and getting hit by oncoming traffic and myself, my husband or children dying for them to do something about it??? – they ordered a new transmission which should arrive in a couple of weeks! The second issue is the Air Bag Unit. When an adult sits in the seat it mistakenly senses a child or someone under 85 lbs and turns the air bag off. (The dash indicator lights up). First time to have it in they updated the software. Second time they kept my vehicle for a week and provided a rental (compact car of no comparison to my vehicle but it got me to work!). They replaced the seat to no avail and replaced something in the dashboard. Still didn’t work. During my visit last week I was told that deaths or injuries have been reported by air bags failing to inflate and therefore Transport Canada has been notified and a recall should be out in mid April on the entire Air Bag Unit as the old ones are faulty from the manufacturer. In the meantime lets hope I don’t have an accident on the highway and go flying through the windshield!! The third issue is not starting. On three occasions now (all weeks apart), the car starts with the automatic starter but when I get in, put my foot on the brake and push the button it turns off. The battery indicator light in the dash comes on. It can take up to 10 minutes of attempting to start before it finally is successful. They checked the battery and wires and told me everything was perfect and they “couldn’t duplicate the issue” so I am still nowhere with this issue. Went out today and same thing happened again!! Should have put the extra cash in for the Toyota Highlander!! Buyers regret for sure!!

Speak Your Mind

*