Toyota Takes Top Spot On Best Retained Value List

Toyota Avalon Chicago Auto Show

Wondering what cars will retain their value the best five years from now? is providing the answers with its annual Best Retained Value Awards.

The award shows what brands and models best retain their original value after a five year future projection. Toyota takes the cake for 2015 for best brand as well as receiving awards for four of its models.

“Smart-car shoppers who are likely to sell their cars within five years should always top and consider projected residual values before making a new car purchase. Whether you are leasing or buying, the retained value of a car can make a big difference in your wallet,” says Carroll Lachnit, Consumer Advice Editor.

Toyota is the non-luxury winner with an average of 52.4 percent. Acura comes in first for the luxury brand with an average of 46.9 percent.

The Toyota models that won individual class awards out of the 24 classes are Tacoma, Avalon, Tundra, and Highlander. Acura received model awards for its ILX and RDX. Toyota’s sister brand Lexus also took cake for its GS350 and GX460 models.

The Toyota Tacoma ages the best of all the models with a 64.5 percent retained value after five years. For 2015 it has a starting base price of $20,965 which means in five years it is projected to still be worth around $13,522. The base model is a 4×2 Access Cab 5-speed manual that gets an estimated 21 mpg city and 25 mpg highway with the standard 4-cylinder engine and 159-horsepower. Add on just under a thousand dollars for 4-speed automatic which gets slightly less fuel economy.

The classic Jeep Wrangler is the second best model investment with a 62.4 percent retained value. For 2015 it has a starting base price of $22,995, so after five years it will still be worth around $14,348. It comes with a 6-speed manual transmission with a 3.6-liter V6 engine that delivers 285-horsepower and gets 17 mpg city and 21 mpg highway. It is also ready for fun and adventure with a soft top, or optional removable hardtop, and standard 4×4.

Other brands that have models that did well are General Motors with its GMC Acadia, GMC Yukon, and Chevrolet Corvette; Honda with its CR-V, Odyssey, and Fit; Subaru with its WRX and Legacy; and Ford with its F-350 and Transit Connect.

The entire list of award winners is below. Best Retained Value Awards

  • Compact car: Subaru WRX
  • Compact crossover SUV: Honda CR-V
  • Midsize truck: Toyota Tacoma
  • Entry luxury car: Acura ILX
  • Entry luxury SUV: Acura RDX
  • Entry sports car: Dodge Challenger
  • Large car: Toyota Avalon
  • Large crossover SUV: GMC Acadia
  • Heavy duty truck: Ford F-350 Super Duty
  • Large SUV: GMC Yukon
  • Large truck: Toyota Tundra
  • Midrange luxury car: Lexus GS 350
  • Midrange luxury SUV: Lexus GX 460
  • Midrange sports car: Chevrolet Corvette
  • Midsize car: Subaru Legacy
  • Midsize crossover SUV: Toyota Highlander
  • Midsize traditional SUV: Jeep Wrangler
  • Minivan: Honda Odyssey
  • Premium luxury car: Porsche Panamera
  • Premium luxury SUV: Mercedes-Benz G Class
  • Premium sports car: Nissan GT-R
  • Subcompact car: Honda Fit
  • Small commercial van: Ford Transit Connect
  • Large commercial van: Ram Promaster
Copyright ©2018 Car Pro. All rights reserved.                                                      Team Access          Privacy          Terms of Service          Technical Support

Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?

Create Account